Board of directors

Brett Johnson

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Brett Johnson joined Cashrewards as the independent Non-Executive Chairman in August 2020.

Brett has more than 14 years’ experience as a director of ASX-listed companies, including at Redflow Limited (ASX: RFX), Helloworld Travel Limited (ASX: HLO) and Scott Corporation Limited (ASX: SCC). He is currently the independent Non-Executive Chairman of Redflow.

Brett is also an experienced lawyer with more than 25 years’ experience as General Counsel of listed Australian companies, including Qantas Airways Limited, where he was a member of the Qantas Executive Committee and responsible for legal risk management in the Qantas Group and management of the Qantas legal department.

In addition to chairing the Board, Brett is the chair of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Bernard Wilson

Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director

Bernard Wilson was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Cashrewards in July 2020.

Bernard has over seven years’ experience leveraging data assets and marketing technology to drive competitive advantage for businesses through marketing and digital transformation, loyalty proposition optimisation, and data and media commercialisation.

Prior to joining Cashrewards, Bernard was an executive at Quantium, a leading data science and artificial intelligence company, heading Quantium’s Open Banking and FinTech business.

Bernard has also held senior management positions at Myer and Woolworths. At Myer, Bernard led Australia’s third most popular loyalty program,87 Myer one, as General Manager, Loyalty, Data, Marketplace and Media. Previously, Bernard was General Manager, Customer Data, Media & Commercialisation at WooliesX where he was responsible for overseeing the commercial and partnerships division of the loyalty program, customer data and analytics, and the targeted media business units.

Bernard was also a Vice President at Investment Bank Credit Suisse, and a lawyer at King & Wood Mallesons.

Bernard holds a Bachelor of Arts/Law (First Class Honours) from Sydney University and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Rob Goudswaard

Independent Non-Executive Director

Rob joined the Board of Cashrewards in January 2021 as ANZ’s nominee, following ANZ’s strategic investment in Cashrewards as part of its IPO in December 2020.

Rob has deep experience in commercial and retail banking across the listed, government-owned and mutual sectors. His extensive business experience includes, most recently, CEO roles at Credit Union Australia and Rural Finance Victoria. Prior to that, he held a number of senior executive roles across the finance industry including as Chief Risk Officer of Institutional Bank and Managing Director of Regional & Rural & Small Business ANZ during a 30-year career with the bank in Australia and overseas.

Rob is also a non-executive director of Lawson Grains and Chairman of Orygen Foundation, and he holds a Bachelor of Economics and Graduate Diploma in Corporate Finance. He is a FAICD and currently completing the International Directors Program at INSEAD, France.

Andrew Clarke

Non-Executive Director (non-independent)

Andrew Clarke launched Cashrewards in 2014 and was Chief Executive Officer until February 2019. Andrew currently serves as a Non-Executive Director.

Under Andrew’s leadership, Cashrewards grew the business into the largest Australian-owned-and-operated cashback reward program, including overseeing several rounds of external funding from capital venture firms in 2018 and 2019.

Prior to establishing Cashrewards, Andrew founded several other companies including ShowTix, a digital event ticket distribution business. Andrew was a finalist in the 2017 EY Entrepreneur of the Year Awards. He has also held senior positions in the entertainment and hospitality industries, including Chief Executive Officer of Showbiz International Pty Ltd from 1997 to 2001, and Managing Director of the Haven Glebe from 1985 to 2005.

Andrew is a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

Rajeev Gupta

Non-Executive Director (non-independent)

Rajeev Gupta joined the Board of Cashrewards in May 2019 following Alium Capital’s initial investment in Cashrewards’ capital raising in 2019.

Rajeev is a partner and co-founder at Alium Capital Management, which manages investment funds focused on emerging technology and innovative companies in Australia. Rajeev is a representative of Alium Capital on the Board.

Rajeev has 20 years’ experience building, analysing and investing in technology companies. Prior to founding Alium Capital, Rajeev founded GeckoLife, a personal and business communication platform. Rajeev has also held senior portfolio management positions at Merricks Capital and Tribeca Global in respect of global technology funds.

Rajeev began his career at Goldman Sachs, where he worked for almost a decade in the investment group in Hong Kong, Singapore and New York, with a focus on listed and unlisted technology companies.

Rajeev is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Joshua Lowcock

Independent Non-Executive Director

Joshua Lowcock joined Cashrewards as an independent Non-Executive Director in August 2020.

Joshua is currently Chief Digital Independent Officer and Global Brand Safety Officer of Universal McCann (UM) New York, a US Marketing and Media Agency. He is also an independent Non-Executive Director of Accent Group (ASX: AX1). Joshua is on the industry advisory board of Rutgers University and Vidcon.

Joshua’s experience includes leading teams responsible for digital, data, media, marketing, and technology across the Asia-Pacific region (China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Korea, Japan, Australia) and in the UK, and was an AdWeek 50 (2018) honouree.

Joshua holds an MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management (AGSM) and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Joshua is the chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.